Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

backlash_2016_posterTonight is the first Smackdown exclusive Pay Per View since February 2007’s No Way Out which featured John Cena and Shawn Michaels who fought Batista and The Undertaker. The pay per view is Backlash which is the first one since 2009’s which featured Edge and John Cena in the main event, but we are now in the new era and known of these names mentioned are here. The new face that runs the place in AJ Styles gets a shot at the WWE World Heavyweight Championship when he takes on the “Lunatic Fringe” Dean Ambrose in the main event. The pay per view also features a six pack women’s challenge for the Smackdown Women’s Championship and two matches for the Smackdown Tag Team Titles. I am not a huge fan of the Smackdown women’s division therefore I think none of them deserve a title. There shouldn’t be two women’s champions, tag team champions, or world champions. Nevertheless, we are stuck with it and we have to deal with it because it is the new era after all. The The thing that I am bummed about is that Randy Orton is reportedly not wrestling tonight at Backlash as he was supposed to take on Bray Wyatt. Dave Meltzer said this on Twitter, “On Orton, he is believed to be off, backstage that is the word but nobody was certain, just that was the word.” I am truly bummed out because it was an Ruthless Aggression Era vs New Era match.

I am going to predict right now that the match of the night is going to be Dean Ambrose vs AJ Styles because they are two of the most exciting guys in the business that finally get to lock up. I am hoping that the WWE is going to give Heath Slater a chance because he does have a lot of kids to feed after all so here’s to hoping that they destroy the newly turned heel Usos (that’s right they’ll beat the superjocks in the Hype Bros). I also looking forward to the Dolph Ziggler vs The Miz match especially after what happened to me on Twitter after I tweeted this to The Miz:

my-tweetThen the Miz responded with this:

miz-tweetAs much as I thought that was the coolest thing in the battle of Ohio between Miz and Dolph, it added to the match overall. It was The Miz in character and I wouldn’t want it any other way. This could be the new runner up for match of the night. I am going to predict that the women’s match will be the worst match of the night, but we’ll have to wait and see tonight. Here are my predictions for tonight:

AJ Styles defeats Dean Ambrose

The Miz defeats Dolph Ziggler

The USOS defeat The Hype Bros

Heath Slater and Rhyno defeat The USOS

Nikki Bella wins the Six Pack Challenge

if the match does happen, Randy Orton over Bray Wyatt is what I would have said.

