Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

wwetlc_poster2016I woke up today to some unfortunate news (depending on your perspective) that The Young Bucks (a favorite of mine) had resigned with Ring Of Honor. I would have loved to see them in the WWE, but then I remembered some better news and that was that tonight is WWE’s TLC: Tables, Ladders, and Chairs PPV which comes live from the American Airlines Arena in my second home of Dallas, Texas. TLC has exclusively become property of Smackdown Live which means we get to see my favorite show in action tonight which includes the main event which is a TLC match that sees AJ Styles defend the WWE World Championship against Dean Ambrose for the second PPV in a row. The rivalry between the two dates all the way back to Backlash when AJ stole the championship from Dean Ambrose. Dean has been on a war path ever since trying to make AJ’s life a living hell and he has succeeded in the form of James Ellsworth. Ellsworth is someone who is clearly not in the same league as AJ Styles, but Dean has screwed with AJ so much that Ellsworth owns three victories against the Phenomenal One. Nonetheless, the question going into tonight is what kind of a role is Ellsworth going to play in their match and can Dean use it to his advantage or will it prove to be a disadvantage after all?

tlcThe Miz in my opinion has been performing at a high level since acquiring the Intercontinental championship when he defeated Zack Ryder back in April on RAW. Yes, I know he lost the title to Dolph Ziggler (who he also defends it against tonight), but even then he has performed at the highest level and I do not see why it should end at TLC because the title is relevant when it is around The Miz’s waist.  Ever since the WWE put Randy Orton in the Wyatt Family, it has only benefited them because he is making them a scarier team in the long run. Tonight, Randy Orton teams with Bray Wyatt to put the Cinderella story to rest for Heath Slater and Rhyno (Beauty And The Man-Beast) for the WWE Smackdown Live Tag Team Titles giving Bray his first taste of gold. I am in the middle when it comes to whether or not I am a fan of the Lone Wolf Baron Corbin. I followed him while he was NXT, but I have been sort of dissatisfied with how they are using him since he came up to the main roster. Is Baron the new Ryback as in being the new bully to the little guy in the WWE? I think we are over that angle already and this is a match that I could do without. So, I feel bad for Baron Corbin because he should be taking on serious contenders on Smackdown Live.

The rest of the night is rounded out by matches that I am not completely 100% invested in like Nikki Bella vs Carmella in a No DQ match. The same kind of goes with the match where Becky Lynch defends her Smackdown Live Woman’s Championship against Alexa Bliss (I am more excited for this than the Carmella/Nikki match). I’ll be happy if Alexa walks out of Dallas with the title because she deserves to be champ. Overall, it should be a decent night of wrestling with Miz/Dolph match being the match of the night as my prediction for that. The snooze fest of the night will be Nikki Bella vs Carmella with both of them getting no reaction (or at least Carmella). I’m curious to see how good Becky Lynch or Alexa will go through the table because they have to outshine the Hell In A Cell Match with Sasha Banks and Charlotte back in October. Here are my predictions for the night:

AJ Styles will defeat Dean Ambrose

The Miz will defeat Dolph Ziggler

Baron Corbin will defeat Kalisto

Nikki Bella will defeat Carmella

Alexa Bliss will defeat Becky Lynch

Bray Wyatt/Randy Orton will defeat Beauty And The Man-Beast (Heath Slater & Rhyno)

If there are any Pre-show matches, you’ll see my predictions for those on my Twitter page here. While you are at it, check out the brand new Facebook page for the Blog, by going to Facebook.com/MRXPUNCHOUT and give the page a Like while you are it.

 

