Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

ss-92-match-2We are continuing to pay tribute here at Mr. X’s Punch Out to all the amazing African Americans that have stepped foot into the squared circle for Black History Month. The man we are covering today is one that I actually kind of cringed at the idea of covering when I first started this, but figured at this point why not. I am covering Virgil for one simple reason is that he is a very controversial figure outside of the ring that according to this article by TheSportster is someone you do not want to meet at conventions (read about it here). Anyways, I have decided that I would cover a match and the length of thos match is all I could take. At Summerslam 1992 in front of 80,000 at Wembley Stadium in London, England, he took on Nailz, an escaped convict running wild in the WWE (why has no one captured this man?). In the pre-match promo, you gotta love that Virgil stayed hip to pop culture with his MC Hammer quote. Nailz’s only offense in the match was choking Virgil while Virgil tried to knock the big man down with a clothesline and a drop kick, but he refused to go down. He tried a sunset flip roll up, but Nailz refused to get pinned. Nailz would just repeatedly try to choke Virgil. After one last try at offense failed, Virgil found himself in the worst looking sleeper hold that I have ever seen in my life and he went to sleep declaring Nailz as the winner of the match. Believe me, people were happy to see Nailz go when it was all said and done.

nailz

